Network button remains orange

Report problems with JoinFS.
Post Reply
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hello, unfortunately I cannot connect to other networks. The Network button remains orange. I also don't see any public hubs. Firewall and router have been checked and an older version has been tested. Sorry for my English, I'm German. ;)
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

Hi. When you first ran JoinFS did Windows ask if you wanted to allow it through the firewall?

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Yes, I agreed to that.
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Sorry, but is there any help for me?
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

So what happens if you enter aviator.digitalthemepark.com and click join?

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hello Peter, unfortunately I cannot get a connection.

Image

Image
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

On the Windows command line can you try these:

ping aviator.digitalthemepark.com

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

4:41 p.m. German time, no connection.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

Ok, it shows up in my monitor window correctly, so the connection was fine getting out. However, for some reason it looks like the response didn't make it back to your machine. Have you tried setting up port forwarding on your router. Port 6112, UDP-only, to your PC. You will have to set a static IP address on your PC to do it.

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hello Peter, I have already released this port and set up a static IP address.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

Is it definitely UDP only?

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Yes.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

Could you create a new session there and let me know. I will try to join it. Don't worry about the address I have that from when you tried to connect to me.

Also leave the monitor window open, right-click to enable Network information. Then we can see if you get anything at all when I join.

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hi Peter, I have since reinstalled my PC and now JoinFS works. Thank you very much for your effort.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

Max wrote: Mon Oct 11, 2021 10:19 am Hi Peter, I have since reinstalled my PC and now JoinFS works. Thank you very much for your effort.
Oh, well that's great to hear, Max. Must have been some local configuration issue then.

Thanks for the update.

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hi Peter, now all of a sudden JoinFS doesn't work anymore. The same error. I have not made any changes. What can I do?
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Peter »

It must be something to do with your network/router configuration, or network software such as an antivirus or something like that.

Peter
Max
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Network button remains orange

Post by Max »

Hello Peter, I have not changed anything on the router and I have no antivirus except the one from Windows. JoinFS was running fine until three days ago....
Post Reply