SIMCOM X Voice application

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Well I can see quite a few people now using SimCom X successfully.

I know people dont know what frequency others are using, so I would encourage people to use the Unicom frequency 122.800 when trying it out on their own.

As it's now working, I'm going to calm down on the updates.

I can see a few minor faults which I'm correcting one by one and will release updates with a number of issues corrected in each update.

Please let me know of any issues you find.
If I dont know about them, I cant fix them.
twodogzz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:39 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by twodogzz »

ATC Roo wrote: If I dont know about them, I cant fix them.
Is this an expected behaviour?

Open SIMCOM X
Click on OFF
Repeating Message." Trying to connect...." "Checking...." "Found!"
The OFF button indicates red and stays OFF, Sim indicates Offline (ok sim not running), Voice indicates red "Offline". Mode indicates red "None".

In addition, clicking on the Window close "x" or the OFF button does nothing.
To close the SIMCOM X window I have to right click the taskbar icon and click Close Window.
SIMCOMX displays the message Powering Down and a Microsoft .NET Framework Unhandled exception message window.
I click on "Quit" in the .NET message window and both windows close.

I sent the log.txt file to you via PM.
Attachments
Microsoft .NET Framework Unhandled exception message
Microsoft .NET Framework Unhandled exception message
simcomX 2019-05-10 1417.JPG (24.16 KiB) Viewed 5166 times
Trying to connect... Checking... Found!
Trying to connect... Checking... Found!
simcomX 2019-05-10 1402.JPG (29.41 KiB) Viewed 5166 times
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Thank you.

I think I know what that is.

I experimented with something a few days ago, which I'll change back shortly.

Using SimCom X by connecting to a sim before then, may fix it.

No app update needed.
davetfc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:52 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by davetfc »

Hi,

I'm having some trouble getting SimCom X to work in X-Plane (version 11.34r1 - build 113400 64-bit). See following images.

Image 1 - This is the current settings being used in SimCom X
Config SimComX.jpg
Config SimComX.jpg (57.2 KiB) Viewed 4846 times
Image 2 - When turning SimCom X on, it makes the connection to XP, but the COM1 channel frequency is not synchronizing correctly with the frequency set on the COM1 radio. In XP I've tuned the radio to Unicom 122.80, but in SimCom X the active frequency is shown as 121.800. Also when I switch the frequency in XP to 123.900 the active frequency in SimComX is not changed!
SimComX - XP11 - 1.jpg
SimComX - XP11 - 1.jpg (140.71 KiB) Viewed 4846 times
Image 3 - After a while I see error messages in SimCom X, like "Error adding user!" and "Error Removing user!".
SimComX - XP11 - 2 - error adding user.jpg
SimComX - XP11 - 2 - error adding user.jpg (142.17 KiB) Viewed 4846 times
I'm currently using version 2.0.3.8 64 bit of XPUIPC. Also in the firewall, I've forwarded port 9988 UDP to the local IP of the PC running XP and SimCom X.

What am I missing here? Thanks!

Kind regards,

Dave
Belgium
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Hi Dave.

Thanks for the post.

Can you send me your log.txt file located in ProgramFiles(x86)/simcomx folder.
davetfc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:52 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by davetfc »

Ah yes. Forgot about that file. Here attached as a zip file.
log.zip
(80.31 KiB) Downloaded 170 times
Kind regards,

Dave
Belgium
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Thanks Dave.

I think I see the issue(s) but I'm not going to have time to fix them for a few days.
It looks like it's the "." "," separator that is used with certain language packs.

In some parts of the world a lat lon would be
52.123456 3.123456
in others...
52,123556 3,123456

I couldn't see in the log but this might be happening with the frequency too.

The distance option also wont work for you at the moment.

With distance and autoswitch unticked you'll be able to use simcom x until I can get an update out.
davetfc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:52 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by davetfc »

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. So I modified the configuration with your tips and I'm also setting the com frequency manually in SimComX.
SimComX - config modified.jpg
SimComX - config modified.jpg (58.14 KiB) Viewed 4835 times
I'm still getting the "Error adding user!" messages though.
SimComX - Error msgs.jpg
SimComX - Error msgs.jpg (49.91 KiB) Viewed 4835 times
I'm also attaching the latest log files.
log1.zip
(1.41 KiB) Downloaded 144 times
Any suggestions as to how I can resolve this? Thanks!

Kind regards

Dave
Belgium
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Dont worry about that error.
It relates to a backup server on the backend.

Something I'm not worried about at the moment and will look into a some point.

I can see that you did connect successfully.
davetfc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:52 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by davetfc »

OK. Thanks for the information!

Kind regards,

Dave
Belgium
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

I have released an update over the weekend.
V 1.3.1.1

Reading through the post again...

I'm not sure I've fixed the Xplane frequency issue.

If somebody could let me know it'll be appreciated.

Roo
kc10b747fe
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by kc10b747fe »

Hey Roo,

Not sure about X-Plane but 1.3.1.1 will no longer retain FSX settings, and does not show Sim Online, regardless of network. Tried a clean install but no help. Settings specifically are FSX/P3D and Auto Com Switch. Had to go back to 1.3.0.9 to operate.

Tony
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Thanks Tony.
I didn't think I'd touched any of that.
Leave it with me and I'll go through it all shortly.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

2.0.0.1 released with some very big changes.

Let me know the issues so I can tweak it.

It will look the same but should be much more reliable.
kc10b747fe
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by kc10b747fe »

Hey Roo,

I was out of town for the last couple of weeks and have just loaded ver 2.0.0.3. Unfortunately I'm still having the same problem that I had with 1.3.1.1. I did a complete uninstall of 1.3.0.9, then installed 2.0.0.3. What I found was without FSX turned on at all, I inserted my call sign, selected my joystick button, then selected config. I then selected my sound device, put a check in FSX, Auto COM Switch, SIMCOM X and On FREQ Change, then selected save. At this time I have not selected the PWR to ON. I then closed the SIMCOMM app, (to see if the settings were retained). I reopened the app all settings remained checked.

Next, I powered on the SIMCOMM app. Indications were PWR: Amber, ON: Green, SERVER: SCX Mode, PTT: Button 3. SIM: showed Offline in Red, Voice: Online in Green, and Mode: SCX in Green. I selected config and all the settings in the first paragraph were still checked, except Auto COM Switch. I checked the Auto COM box again and selected save. I checked config, and the Auto COM had deselected again. I powered off the app, saved all settings again, rechecked to see if the setting retained (they did), then shut the app down.

I started FSX and loaded a flight. I started the app, checked the config before powering on, (all setting were still retained). I then turned the the power on. Indications were PWR: Red, ON: Green, Server: SCX Mode, Sim: Offline in Red, Voice: Online in Green and Mode: SCX in Green.
Checked config, all setting were now unchecked except SIMCOM X. I then selected all the settings again, saved them and then rechecked, and FSX, and ON FREQ CHANGE remained selected, however SIM: remained Offline in Red. If I powered off then back on, all setting again unchecked themselves.

I uninstalled 2.0.0.3, using Revo uninstaller, then reinstalled 1.3.0.9, and everything worked as expected.

Hope this info helps in isolating my problem.

Tony J
TexxasAl
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:58 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by TexxasAl »

For what it may be worth, I can concur with the problem in the most recent release.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Thanks both.
Leave it with me and I'll check 1.3.0.9 against the latest.

Does the Log show that Simconnect connected or failed?

C:\Program Files(x86)\simcomX\log.txt

I know I've told the autoswitch box to untick if Simcom X isnt connected to a sim, so that explains part of it.

The FSX/P3D tickbox will also untick after X second if it's been unable to connect to a sim.
I know Peter also does this with JoinFS.
If we dont stop it trying to connect with no sim available it causrs the form to hang as it keeps trying.

Best practice is what Tony did on his 3rd try.

Start a sim and flight.
Start Simcom X.
Tick the FSX/P3D Box (connected to sim should immediately turn green).
Then tick the autoswitch.

It looks like as you say it's not connecting, so I'll figure out why shortly.

Ofcourse it works fine for me when I test with FSX SE :roll:
kc10b747fe
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by kc10b747fe »

Hey Roo,

I did a reload on V2.0.0.3 and took a screenshot of my log.txt. FSX is up and running with a flight loaded the FSX/P3D box checked. Auto Com switch was selected prior to powering on, but deselected itself and Sim remained offline. Hope this helps and thanks in advance for the great support.

Tony J

SIMCOMM2003.jpg
SIMCOMM2003.jpg (126.82 KiB) Viewed 5163 times
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Thanks Tony.
A picture tells a thousand words etc etc...
Very helpful.

I've got sometime to myself tomorrow evening so I'll have a look then.

P.S
I'm assuming you're using FSX Steam?
Do you know what version of SimConnect you're using?

Does it connect to the sim without selecting AutoSwitch?
kc10b747fe
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by kc10b747fe »

Roo,

Not at home right now, but I am running WIN 7, box version FSX, with Acceleration pack which includes SP2. Not sure of the of the version of SimConnect, but I'll get that info once I get home from work.

I have not been able to get a connection regardless of what is checked. I can get the FSX/P3D box to stay checked, but the Sim still shows offline. The Auto Switch does not stay selected with FSX running and a flight loaded. The only time it stays selected is with power off on the app and FSX shutdown.

Tony J
Post Reply