ATC with JOINFS

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

Good stuff.

I'll have to join you one day and and open a Tower in the UK for your pilots.

Glad it's fixed.

I'll post a new version when I get the time to look over it.
jopie_60
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:45 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by jopie_60 »

Good morning, my colleague flightsimmer.

It strikes me that with the new version v.2.1.0.1 you no longer want to open the "Debug" window.

Furthermore, it strikes me that in the lower left corner of Euroscope the message ESJSF is no longer visible, but as far as I can see it, Euroscope is working normally.

What is the function of "Registration Only" in the ESJFS2018 window?

Can I also ask you about JoinFS?

Are there ristrictions as father and son with two differences the machines log into JoinFS with the "seeing".

Keep smiling and healthy best friend.

Regards

Hans
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

jopie_60 wrote: It strikes me that with the new version v.2.1.0.1 you no longer want to open the "Debug" window.
The error log file will only show errors.
The Debug window will show what is happening.

For Example: the Debug window will show when an aircraft position has been sent.
This is not an error, so will not show in the log file.
jopie_60 wrote: Furthermore, it strikes me that in the lower left corner of Euroscope the message ESJSF is no longer visible, but as far as I can see it, Euroscope is working normally.
That message should be visible when Euroscope connects.
Is VATSIM ticked in the Euroscope connection window?
It should not be.

If the scope is working as you expect, I would ignore the issue.
jopie_60 wrote: What is the function of "Registration Only" in the ESJFS2018 window?
If an aircraft has set both a callsign and Tail number in their SIM, Registration Only will show the Tail Number not the callsign on the scope.
jopie_60 wrote: Can I also ask you about JoinFS?
I'm probably not your man for most JoinFS queries.

I'd start a new post on the forum.
edakridge
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:30 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by edakridge »

I use ESJFS and Euroscope when controlling my guys and have found that it works very well. I DO see the "ESJFS" at the lower left. Rather than rely on either registration or tail number, I have found that it is easier to have each player "Squawk" an individual IFF code. (Mode 3) This will show in the player's "Tag" and is easier for me to identify in a crowded environment.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

I use Squawks too.
Once identified I Assume them, which then shows the callsign they are using.
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Hi Andy,

Trying to get this running, have downloaded your latest version, followed yor connection instructions, but see no A/C. I was talking to them in our TS.

Running ES3.2; joinFS1.4.20; windows 7.

Action as follows,
online; opened Joinfs - CIX open server; opened ESJFS; opened ES at EGKA-TWR connected as advised.
ESJFS connected with ES; Joinfs network green; nothing.
I may have a problem with ESJFS.
1. the 'panel' looks nothing like your screenshot on page1.
2 . Ihave 6 tick boxes, 2 open boxes, the one lower right closes the programme and ond titled update planes.
When connected to ES 'euroscope appears bottom left in pale green; there is a top banner showing (white on blkack 'waiting for a connection/connected. The remainder is white - no labels for the tick boxes, they change what appears to be a stau text very bottom right, but don't appear to do anything.

I did not have FSX running,

Any ideas please.

Neville
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Trying to get this running, have downloaded your latest version, followed yor connection instructions, but see no A/C. I was talking to them in our TS.

Running ES3.2; joinFS1.4.20; windows 7.

Action as follows,
online; opened Joinfs - CIX open server; opened ESJFS; opened ES at EGKA-TWR connected as advised.
ESJFS connected with ES; Joinfs network green; nothing.
I may have a problem with ESJFS.
1. the 'panel' looks nothing like your screenshot on page1.
2 . Ihave 6 tick boxes, 2 open boxes, the one lower right closes the programme and ond titled update planes.
When connected to ES 'euroscope appears bottom left in pale green; there is a top banner showing (white on blkack 'waiting for a connection/connected. The remainder is white - no labels for the tick boxes, they change what appears to be a stau text very bottom right, but don't appear to do anything.

I did not have FSX running,

Any ideas please.

Neville
Hi Neville,
Nice to see another Virtual ATCO.

I was thinking about this program the other day on how I could rewrite it to make it easier, which I will do after I'm happy with the voice apps.

I can confirm it does work as I use it now and then.
I'll have to get around to writing a small tutorial for it.

Point 1.
I changed it a lot since I took that initial screenshot, so don't worry that it looks different.

Point 2
Can you send me a screenshot?
Something definitely doesn't sound right if there are no labels.

It sounds like Euroscope hasn't connected to ESJFS at the moment.

What IP did you enter in Euroscope?
127.0.0.1 or localhost should work.

Is the VATSIM tick box in Euroscope ticked?
Off the top of my head it shouldn't be.

One of the buttons should say DEBUG and will open up a console window to tell you what is or isn't happening.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

These are the settings I'm using below just now.

Image

There are only 2 aircraft on the JoinFS hub I'm connected to, so I had to zoom out to see them.

Image
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the quick reply,

1. The ESJFS welcome msge did come up in ES.
2 Noted. I did not haveusername/nickname the same, now done
Thanks for your screenshot, my debug button does nothing
I got the metar to display in ES and fired up the voice ATIS ok, but it would only activate the text.
Not able to try for an A/C, nobody about.
hopefully screenshot attached

regards Neville
Attachments
ROO1.jpg
ROO1.jpg (179.85 KiB) Viewed 7253 times
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Thanks for the quick reply,

1. The ESJFS welcome msge did come up in ES.
2 Noted. I did not haveusername/nickname the same, now done
Thanks for your screenshot, my debug button does nothing
I got the metar to display in ES and fired up the voice ATIS ok, but it would only activate the text.
Not able to try for an A/C, nobody about.
hopefully screenshot attached

regards Neville
No problem.

1. If you get the message you are all working and connected, great.

2.Username/Nickname shouldn't matter, I think this will be a coincidence that it worked when they were set the same.
The callsign in Euroscope is important.
The first 4 characters MUST be the ICAO code for the airfield you are controlling.

The Debug button will only work if you click it after ESJFS has opened and before you connect Euroscope.
It was an after thought which I'll correct when I get around to a rewrite.

As you are not connected to an FSD server (like vatsim) you will notice features missing.

The voice services in Euroscope are for the VATSIM Voice servers And so will not work whilst viewing JoinFS traffic.
Although I told it to get the latest real world METAR, It will only get the METAR for your airport ( hence the callsign importance).

You won't be able to coordinate with other controllers through Euroscope and certain information will be missing from flight plans.
But the information it does show will be the latest and correct.

If you tick Global whazzup in JoinFS you will see all users.
Although those users not on the same hub as you will not update at the right interval to be controlled.
In other words they update around every 60seconds where as users on the same hub as you update around every 3-4 seconds to make for a realistic radar sweep.

Hope that helps.
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

I had a quick look this morning Neville and I wasn't able to replicate the white background.

The only thing I can think of is that your system doesn't have, or won't use the color I set the background to for some reason?

So I've changed the background color of the app to a different black, to see if your system can use that.
Its the same black thats in the textbar on your picture, which does show.

The same download link as before will download the latest version (2.1.0.1).

Let me know if that helps.
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Hi Andy,

Thanks, debug now working and repeating ' error loading wazzup locations'.

I should be able to test with traffic this evening.

colour change perfect, I suspect my system saw it as transparent.


Thanks again, be in touch,

Neville
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Thanks, debug now working and repeating ' error loading wazzup locations'.

I should be able to test with traffic this evening.

colour change perfect, I suspect my system saw it as transparent.


Thanks again, be in touch,

Neville
Ah good stuff.

I'll also be on this evening.

I'll have Euroscope open in the UK and I'll be Testing SIMCOM X if you have any queries.
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Hi Andy,

Had an A/C on the ground and in the air, could not see him in ES, said it was connected.

Should I be pulling in VATSIM returns beyond my TWR range?, I do.

neville
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

This is where the Debug option will be helpful Neville.

With Debug open it will show all the positions that have been found in the whazzup file and sent to Euroscope.

If A/C callsign isn't showing in the Debug window, there's an issue.
I'd then check it was in your whazzup.

Else if it is showing in the Debug window, it is sent to Euroscope.

Regarding range..
You will see all aircraft world wide.
If include global users is ticked you see all aircraft on the network.
If only whazzup is ticked you see only users on your hub.

I could write something in to the app that would consider the range set in Euroscope, but thought that was adding something that wasn't really needed as a user can zoom in and out.

I've got to experiment with Peters new Global feature to see how that shows aircraft.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1842
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by Peter »

Are the aircraft showing in the Aircraft list in JoinFS, and is JoinFS connected to the simulator?

Peter
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Peter,
Are you saying that in order to connect ES and JoinFS via ESJFS, I need to have FSX running?

Neville
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

If you choose the JoinFS tick box in ESJFS you don't need a SIM running.
You will need to tick whazzup.txt in JoinFS.

Settings for ESJFS2018 as below.
1. JoinFS ticked.
EsJFS2018 will read the aircraft positions from the JoinFS whazzup file.

2. FSX/P3D ticked.
ESJFS2018 will read the positions directly from the SIM using Simconnect.

3. FSUIPC ticked.
ESJFS2018 will read the positions from the SIM over FSUIPC (or XPUIPC for Xplane users).

A SIM is only needed to be run with option 2 or 3.

If no positions are showing with option 1 selected, check that you whazzup file is being populated by JoinFS.

The whazzup file is located in your Appdata/local/JoinFS folder.
neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by neville »

Hi Andy,
Thanks, ES says ESJFS displayed/data; whazzup file = 3kb, static listing of 39 servers, 2 clients, though time stamp is progressing; ESJFS = JoinFS ticked, ES green, JoinFS green Debug= rolling 'Added Metar; Error getting wazzup positions.

I havn't been able to see any A/C.

Have set up ES with adc and .prf for EGKA-ROO.

Have to go in five, but will try again tomorrow night.

Neville
ATC Roo
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

Are you using the lastest stable version Neville?
There is a problem with the whazzup in the latest stable v1.4.20.

Peter has fixed it in the test version, so assume it will be ok in the next stable version.
Post Reply