ATC with JOINFS

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
pilotdeviation
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 9:40 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by pilotdeviation »

I'm facing the same issue, getting the "Error getting Whazzup positions" when trying to use Euroscope with JoinFS and ESJFS.

Edit:
As a little bit of added detail, both euroscope.txt and whazzup.txt are present in %appdata%\Local\joinFS and being actively refreshed when connected via joinFS to e.g. the global network.
ATC Roo
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

Vulkaistos wrote: Wed Apr 21, 2021 3:08 pm Thanks for the quick suggestions!

I enabled the debug mode and ran the whole thing again.

The debug window just alternatingly displays "Added METAR" and then "Error getting Whazzup positions" which I assume is the key error here.
I have the whazupp.txt enabled in the JoinFS settings and checked for its existence in the appdata folder, it is there and its being written to.

Does that give you any idea on how to fix it?
Yup that definitely sounds like the culprit

The bad news is after just moving house, my ISP has failed to enable a connection to my new home.

So I'm not able to fire everything up at the moment to see why there's an error.

I will fix it, but I'm afraid you'll have to bere with me for (hopefully) a few more days.
Vulkaistos
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 10:20 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by Vulkaistos »

ATC Roo wrote: Sun Apr 25, 2021 10:23 pm
Vulkaistos wrote: Wed Apr 21, 2021 3:08 pm Thanks for the quick suggestions!

I enabled the debug mode and ran the whole thing again.

The debug window just alternatingly displays "Added METAR" and then "Error getting Whazzup positions" which I assume is the key error here.
I have the whazupp.txt enabled in the JoinFS settings and checked for its existence in the appdata folder, it is there and its being written to.

Does that give you any idea on how to fix it?
Yup that definitely sounds like the culprit

The bad news is after just moving house, my ISP has failed to enable a connection to my new home.

So I'm not able to fire everything up at the moment to see why there's an error.

I will fix it, but I'm afraid you'll have to bere with me for (hopefully) a few more days.
Thanks for the quick heads-up! I'll just wait until you fix it. No worries!
ATC Roo
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

I managed to get a mobile signal/mobile internet.

So I've uploaded a fix.
It looks like the METAR feature is having issues also.

But give me a few days for that fix.
Vulkaistos
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 10:20 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by Vulkaistos »

ATC Roo wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 10:05 am I managed to get a mobile signal/mobile internet.

So I've uploaded a fix.
It looks like the METAR feature is having issues also.

But give me a few days for that fix.
Perfect! Just tested the new release and traffic is now displayed as expected. :)
ATC Roo
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

I've just corrected the METAR issue and updated it to look at the new JoinFS Whazzup file location too.

So all updated and working again.
pilotdeviation
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 9:40 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by pilotdeviation »

Thanks alot!
Djeez2
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2021 6:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by Djeez2 »

I am using ESJFS but I am confused if I should check the "Euroscope" checkbox or the "Whazzup" checkbox in JoinFS.

Anyway, I can see my own aircraft in Euroscope, but not the flightplan that I filed in JoinFS so something is not correct.

Is there a way to figure out what is wrong?


Thanks!

Djeez2.
ATC Roo
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

You should check the Whazzup in JoinFS as ESJFS reads the Whazzup to show the info on radar.

You should see if your flight plan is in the Whazzup file.
The Whazzup file is in your My Documents folder.
Djeez2
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2021 6:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by Djeez2 »

Thanks for the reply.

The more I try, the less I understand :?

I do see the Whazzup file with what seems to be correct information.

If I disable ATC mode in JoinFS, my plane does not show up in Euroscope, although it is listed in the whazzup file.

Code: Select all

!CLIENTS
PHEVG:::PILOT:112.4.:51.4531699195504:5.37955239415169:77:0:/C172::EHEH::EHSE:JoinFS:::706::::VFR:::::::::VWAARD::::::::036:::
If I enable ATC mode in JoinFS, my plane does show up, but without the flight plan (NOFP)

Code: Select all

!CLIENTS
EHEH_TWR:VBV814:VBV814:ATC:132.80:51.450138092041:5.37452793121338:0:0::::::::::4:276:::::::::::::::::::::::::::
PHEVG:::PILOT:112.4.:51.4531699195504:5.37955239415169:77:0:/C172::EHEH::EHSE:JoinFS:::706::::VFR:::::::::VWAARD::::::::036:::
ATC Roo
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Post by ATC Roo »

It's been a while since I've been able to join in, so bear with me.
ATC mode in JoinFS was added at the start of JoinFS to show aircraft on the default FSX radar, when it was used in Free flight mode. So ignore that feature if using Euroscope.

All you need selected in JoinFS is the Whazzup.
If you want to see users using the Global option, tick Global Whazzup too.

ESJFS can show data from the JoinFS Whazzup or directly from your SIM.

In ESJFS have you tried ticking either the Simconnect option or UIPC option and selecting show user aircraft?

Do you see anybody else on Euroscope?
Post Reply