COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Any questions regarding JoinFS.
Post Reply
JB3D
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:52 am

COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by JB3D »

Hi Peter

Are the COM standby events synced both in shared cockpit and between separate aircraft or just shared cockpit? Is there a way to sync them between separate aircraft as well? I use it for A-A TACAN.
enjjptnext
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:04 pm

Re: COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by enjjptnext »

Does anyone know if the above is possible and how I would enable it?
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 2234
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by Peter »

Must have missed this post.

It is off by default, but you can enable it by changing the variable files.

In your Documents\JoinFS-FS2020 folder you should see a Variables folder. Make a copy of the plane.txt file, for example, planeCOMS.txt

Find the lines that contain the COMs variables. There should be the following:

COM ACTIVE FREQUENCY:1
COM ACTIVE FREQUENCY:2
NAV ACTIVE FREQUENCY:1
NAV ACTIVE FREQUENCY:2
COM STANDBY FREQUENCY:1
COM STANDBY FREQUENCY:2
NAV STANDBY FREQUENCY:1
NAV STANDBY FREQUENCY:2

You need to append the relevant line with "|INJECTED". This will make the variable sync between injected aircraft.

Then in the aircraft list, select the model you want it to work with, select "Edit Variables", remove "Plane.txt" and add "PlaneCOMS.txt". This needs to be done by each person in the session with their aircraft so that the variable is synced everywhere. The changes will persist when you close and open JoinFS.

Peter
enjjptnext
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:04 pm

Re: COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by enjjptnext »

It works thanks so much!!
enjjptnext
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:04 pm

Re: COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by enjjptnext »

Quick question related to this!
With the new "PlaneCOMS.txt" file in both players setup A-A Tacan works fine but if the jet is Substituted with a different one it stops even when that jet also uses "PlaneComs.txt" any idea why?

Ex. Both players are flying a T-38C and connected through A-A Tacan. when they substitute to look like an F-16 the TACAN disconnects
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 2234
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: COM2_STBY_RADIO_SET syncing

Post by Peter »

enjjptnext wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 6:57 pm Quick question related to this!
With the new "PlaneCOMS.txt" file in both players setup A-A Tacan works fine but if the jet is Substituted with a different one it stops even when that jet also uses "PlaneComs.txt" any idea why?

Ex. Both players are flying a T-38C and connected through A-A Tacan. when they substitute to look like an F-16 the TACAN disconnects
Should work if the same text file is applied to both aircraft. You could try looking at the monitor window and enable variables. You can then see the TACAN/frequency getting updated.

Peter
Post Reply